OLCHS Inducts 59 Students Into the National Honor Society

NHS President David Oliver presided over the recent induction ceremony at Oak Lawn Community High School.
NHS President David Oliver presided over the recent induction ceremony at Oak Lawn Community High School.

This past semester, fifty-nine Oak Lawn Community High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society. The ceremony was conducted by the Chapter President David Oliver, Vice-president Jason Snyder, Corresponding Secretary Emily Salomone, Recording Secretary Kyle Hayes, and Treasurers Shelby Trybula and Jacob Allen.  Superintendent/Principal Michael Riordan and Chapter Advisor Jessica Nickless presented the awards.

The inductees were selected by a faculty council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.  They will serve Oak Lawn Community High School as National Honor Society members on various service projects in the school and throughout the community. 

The guest speaker was William Gerny, English Teacher and Baseball Coach. William reflected upon his years of service. Mr. Gerny challenged the NHS members to play an active role in planning their futures.  His words inspired the members to always do their best and to provide the Spartan community with service and leadership.  Mr. Gerny’s words of encouragement provided motivation for all to take an active role in promoting Spartan PRIDE.

The following students were inducted:  Ahmad Abdulla, Mohammad Abuosbie, Laura Akouris, Jamie Alberts, Stephanie Barragan, Musaab Bashir, Ciara Berry, Crystal Cabada, Elisabeth Childers, Joseph Consenza, Rachel Costello, Olivia Dankowski, Gina Dymit, Michael Felton, Elise Fetzer, Mary Garbacz, Jasmine Gerena, Natalie Glab, Kali Graziano, Dana Greene, Vincenzo Gudino, Kaleigh Hayes, Paige Jarzabkowski, Mustafa Kanan, Paulina Kotwica, Jacob Kupres, Megan Kusturin, Kurt Kuzur, Hayden Landingham, David Le, Gabriel Lira, Rocky Martin, Alexis Martinez, Abby Mendoza, Nicholas Minnella, John Neubauer, Emmet Nugent, Sean Nugent, Kristyn Oliver, Tariq Ouri, Michael Pajor, Tomasz Parzadka, Alyssa Radoicic, Nicholas Raymer, Ibrahim Samra, Kevin Scardina, Kenneth Schlesser, Markelle Scott, Nariman Shehaiber, Riley Spreadbury, Elizabeth Stepp, Senad Sweis, Jacqueline Taylor, Juliet Torres, Kelsey Townsend, Daniele Vanderwarren, Naihal Wajid, Cassidy Ward, and Afreen Yasin.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »