Oak Lawn Village Board Races: Five Incumbents, Nine Challengers

A guide to the April 2013 village board trustee races.

The mayor/village board president and village clerk are up for reelection on April 9.

Mayor Dave Heilmann and Village Clerk Jane Quinlan are both running for their third terms in office.

Even-numbered village districts including Dist. 2, Dist. 4 and Dist. 6 are up for renewal.

There is a special election in Dist. 1 to complete the unfinished term of former trustee Jerry Hurckes, who resigned in August 2011. The Dist. 1 term is for two years and will be back in the odd-numbered district election cycle in April 2015.

Incumbent trustees are Cynthia Traustch (Dist. 1), Alex Olejniczak (Dist. 2) and Tom Duhig (Dist. 4).

Trustee Tom Phelan (Dist. 6) is not running for a third term.


Mayor/Village Board President:

David Heilmann (incumbent, Mayor's Independence Party)

Sandra Bury (challenger, indepdendent)

Village Clerk:

Melissa Moran (challenger, Mayor's Independence Party)

Jane Quinlan (incumbent, independent)

Dist. 1 Trustee

Tim Desmond (challenger, Oak Lawn First Party)

Cynthia Traustch (incumbent, Mayor's Independence Party)

Dist. 2 Trustee

Julie Misner (challenger, Mayor's Independence Party) 

Alex Olejniczak (incumbent, independent)

Dist. 4 Trustee

Terry Vorderer (challenger, independent)

Tim Reilly (challenger, Mayor's Independence Party)

Tom Duhig (incumbent, Oak Lawn First Party)

Dist. 6 Trustee

Joseph Sorrentino (challenger, independent)

Carol Sheahan (challenger, Mayor's Independence Party)

Mike Carberry (challenger, Oak Lawn First Party)


  • '
  • Exclusive: Oak Lawn Served With Federal Grand Jury Subpoena (Aug. 23. 2011
  • Mayor Blasts Legal Report for Ignoring Federal Criminal Investigation


Join Patch! Create a free user account and join the discussion about the future of the area. You'll be subscribed to the free daily newsletter and breaking news alerts.

Got a news tip? Email Patch editor Lorraine Swanson.

Follow Oak Lawn Patch on Facebook.

MIKE March 27, 2013 at 06:40 PM
In the last 30 years I have only gotten 4 wrong. The winners will be Dave Hielmann, Mellissa Moran, Tim Desmond, Alex Oleniczak and Carol Sheahan. This is not how I am going to vote but the will be the outcome. Hell why even have the election lol
Bob March 27, 2013 at 08:28 PM
Quinlin will win


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »